Our motivation Our aim is to alleviate the suffering of patients with inflammatory diseases by means of a targeted immunomodulatory therapy. As an energetic, international team with its roots in Germany and a passion for science and advances in the treatment of immune diseases, we are breaking new ground by selectively activating regulatory T cells. Read more

Our motivation is to aleviate the suffering of patients with inflammatory diseases by means of a targeted immunomodulatory therapy. As an energetic international team with its roots in Germany and a passion for science and real advances, we are breaking new ground by selectively activating regulatory T cells. Read more
Das Unternehmen
Der Wirkstoff
Das Potenzial

T-Balance® Therapeutics

Company history

T-Balance® Therapeutics was founded  in June 2019 under the name Ogen GmbH. The new biotechnology start-up in Frankfurt/Main, Munich and Potsdam (near Berlin) encompasses an international team with a network of renowned partners in the fields of analytics, preclinical and clinical drug development with a focus to developing an immunological antibody. The focus of T-Balance® Therapeutics is apparent from its name – the development of the monoclonal antibody tregalizumab, which can bring the immune system imbalance found in disease back into equilibrium.

Tregalizumab

Tregalizumab is currently the only known antibody that selectively activates the immunomodulatory subpopulation of regulatory T cells. The antibody acts early in the inflammatory cascade and as such represents a novel therapeutic approach to the relief and treatment of inflammatory processes.

 

Tregalizumab acts as an agonist and is a humanized anti-CD4 monoclonal antibody. Unlike other molecules in its class, it binds to CD4 in a specific and unique manner to activate regulatory T cells.

Regulatory T cells are essential for maintaining peripheral immune tolerance; they suppress autoreactive T cells (i.e. cells targeted against the body’s own structures) and thereby prevent the excessive activation of T lymphocytes seen in autoimmune diseases.

 

Therefore, Tregalizumab has the potential to help treat a wide variety of autoimmune diseases and conditions associated with the signs and symptoms of chronic inflammation.

forscher-farbe
medikament-farbe

Strenghts

  • Unique specificity
    Acts on regulatory T cells (Tregs) in a highly selective manner
  • Robust safety profile

No evidence of ADCC or CDC 

  • At an advanced stage of clinical development
    Already tested on more than 700 subjects
  • Pharmacokinetics already investigated
    Known dosage range and method of administration (SC and IV)
  • Acts early in the immune cascade
  • High potential
    Holds promise in a wide breadth of immune indications characterized by chronic and excessive inflammatory reactions

Milestones and lessons learned

First milestones passed

Tregalizumab has already undergone intensive scientific and clinical studies on autoimmune diseases and has reached the Phase II clinical trial stage. In parallel, its mode of action has also been tested in preclinical studies using in vitro models and human cells. In addition, tregalizumab has been tested in eight clinical trials thus far: two in healthy volunteers, two in psoriasis vulgaris (plaque psoriasis)

 

and four in rheumatoid arthritis. Phase IIa studies on the indications of psoriasis and rheumatoid arthritis showed promising effects with no unexpected safety concerns.

In addition, in vitro testing of tregalizumab on cells from patients with allergic asthma has revealed a very promising immunomodulatory potential for this therapeutic indication.

Lessons learned

The development of tregalizumab for the indication of rheumatoid arthritis was completed with the Phase IIb T-Cell Regulating Arthritis Trial 2b (TREAT2b) in 2015. The primary endpoint was not achieved. A retrospective analysis suggested interactions of tregalizumab with disease-modifying methotrexate therapy that may have had a negative impact on tregalizumab efficacy.

22.06.2018
09.01.2019
22.03.2019
10.06.2019
10.01.2020
Phase IIa Studien in den Indikationen Psoriasis und Rheumatoide Arthrits zeigten vielversprechende Effekte.
Die Entwicklung von Tregalizumab in der Indikation Rheumatoide Arthritis wurde mit der Phase IIb Studie TREAT2b (T cell REgulating Arthritis Trial 2b) beendet.
Eine retrospektive Analyse wies auf Interaktionen von Tregalizumab mit Glucocorticoiden und Metothrexat, die die Effizienz von Tregalizumab negativ beeinflussen könnten.
Tregalizumab befindet sich damit bereits in Phase 2 der klinischen Entwicklung. Bisher gab es keine unerwarteten Sicherheitsbedenken.
In der Indiaktion allergisches Asthma zeigt Tregalizumab in in vitro- Untersuchungen ein vielversprechendes immunmodulierendes Potenzial.

The next milestone

T-Balance Therapeutics announces that the German regulatory authority, the Paul-Ehrlich-Institut, has approved a Phase 2a clinical trial for the use of tregalizumab in the treatment of allergic asthma.

The Phase IIa trial on the efficacy and safety of tregalizumab in allergic asthma is planned for the beginning of 2021.

‘Lead indication’: allergic asthma

Bronchial asthma is a heterogeneous disease characterized by chronic inflammation of the lungs. Global figures show that about 350 million people suffer from asthma.1 This number is expected to rise to an estimated 400 million by the year 2025.2 Worldwide, some 495,000 people die from asthma every year.3

Two types of asthma can be distinguished: allergic asthma and non-allergic asthma. In allergic asthma, the body reacts to a typically harmless substance with an unbalanced excessive immune reaction shifted towards TH2 lymphocytes. This, in turn, leads to an increase in eosinophils and the secretion of pro-inflammatory cytokines. Allergic asthma often begins in childhood or adolescence.

Tests using in vitro models have shown that tregalizumab balances the immune response of patients with allergic asthma towards TH1 signalling, thereby indicating a potential for the reduction of inflammation. In the planned Phase IIa TREGULAIRE study, the efficacy and safety of the active substance in the indication allergic asthma will be investigated. The current database indicates tregalizumab could be a promising targeted therapeutic option in allergic asthma.

1 GBD 2015 Chronic Respiratory Disease Collaborators. Global, regional, and national deaths, prevalence, disability-adjusted life years, and years lived with disability for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and asthma, 1990-2015: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2015. Lancet Respir Med 2017; 5:691-706. 
2 Masoli et al, The global burden of asthma: executive summary of the GINA Dissemination Committee Report, Allergy 2004:59 469-478.
3 Global, regional and national age-sex-specific mortality for 282 causes of death in 195 countries and territories, 1980-2017: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017. Lancet 2018; 392:1736-88.

The potential of tregalizumab

With its unique mechanism of action, tregalizumab has a potential for use in therapeutic indications across a wide variety of diseases involving chronic inflammatory processes.

Autoimmune diseases and other diseases with chronic or excessive inflammation

Worldwide, about 50 million people4 are affected by one of the more than 80 currently recognized autoimmune diseases. These include type 1 diabetes, multiple sclerosis, lupus, rheumatoid arthritis, plaque psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, atopic dermatitis and celiac disease. Other examples of serious chronic or excessive inflammatory diseases are Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis. Anti-inflammatory drugs, immunosuppressants and biologicals are used to treat these medical conditions. For these indications alone, biologicals have a market value of €75 billion. With its novel mode of action, tregalizumab has the potential to achieve a high market value.

Common to all these diseases is the overreactive immune system, in which self-tolerance is lost and autoimmune responses are initiated. In the healthy body, this immune tolerance is regulated and maintained by regulatory T cells (Tregs).

Tregalizumab acts precisely at this point: the monoclonal antibody activates regulatory T cells in a highly specific manner to help interrupt the pathogenic overreaction of the immune system and restore immune tolerance.

4 7th International Conference on Infectious Diseases, Bacteriology and Antibiotics. October 12-13, 2020 Prague, Czech Republic. Abstract of Autoimmune Disease Session. URL: https://infectiousdiseases.annualcongress.com/events-list/autoimmune-disease. Cited: 5 June 2020

Unsere Motivation Ist es, das Leiden von Patienten mit entzündlichem Krankheitbild durch eine gezielte immunomodulatorische Behandlung zu lindern. Mit der selektiven Aktivierung von regulatorischen T-Zellen gehen wir dazu als agiles, internationales Team mit deutschen Wurzeln und Passion für Wissenschaft und Fortschritt ganz neue Wege. Mehr erfahren

Unsere Motivation Ist es, das Leiden von Patienten mit entzündlichem Krankheitbild durch eine gezielte immunomodulatorische Behandlung zu lindern. Mit der selektiven Aktivierung von regulatorischen T-Zellen gehen wir dazu als agiles, internationales Team mit deutschen Wurzeln und Passion für Wissenschaft und Fortschritt ganz neue Wege. Mehr erfahren
Das Unternehmen
Der Wirkstoff
Das Potenzial

T-Balance® Therapeutics

Unternehmensgeschichte

T-Balance® Therapeutics wurde im Juni 2019 unter dem Namen OGen GmbH gegründet. Das junge Biotechnologie-Start-up an den Standorten Frankfurt/Main, München und Potsdam (bei Berlin) hat ein internationales Team und ein Netzwerk aus renommierten Kooperationspartnern in den Bereichen Analytik, präklinische und klinische Entwicklung aufgebaut, um einen immunologischen Antikörper zu entwickeln. Der Fokus von T-Balance® Therapeutics zeigt sich bereits im Namen – der Entwicklung des monoklonalen Antikörpers Tregalizumab, der ein im Krankheitsfall aus dem Gleichgewicht geratenes Immunsystem wieder ins Gleichgewicht bringen kann.

Tregalizumab

Tregalizumab ist derzeit der einzige Antikörper, der selektiv die immunmodulierende Subpopulation regulatorischer T-Zellen aktiviert. Der Antikörper setzt früh in der entzündlichen Kaskade ein und stellt damit einen neuen therapeutischen Ansatz in der Therapie und Linderung entzündlicher Prozesse dar.
Tregalizumab ist ein humanisierter monoklonaler agonistischer anti-CD4-Antikörper. Einzigartig ist seine spezifische CD4-Bindungsregion, über die regulatorische T-Zellen hoch selektiv aktiviert werden.

Regulatorische T-Zellen sind essenziell, um die periphere Immuntoleranz zu erhalten: Sie unterdrücken autoreaktive, d. h. gegen körpereigene Strukturen gerichtete T-Zellen und verhindert damit die bei Autoimmunerkrankungen überschießende Aktivierung von T-Lymphozyten, wie sie zum Beispiel bei Autoimmunerkrankungen beobachtet wird.

Tregalizumab hat damit das Potenzial, bei unterschiedlichsten Autoimmun- und verschiedensten Erkrankungen mit chronisch entzündlicher Symptomatik therapeutisch eingesetzt zu werden.
forscher-farbe
antibodies to cell movement of the virus
medikament-farbe

Stärken

  • Einzigartige Spezifität
    Wirkt hoch selektiv auf regulatorische T-Helferzellen (Treg)
  • Gute Verträglichkeit
    Bisher keine Hinweise auf ADCC und CDC
  • In fortgeschrittener klinischer Entwicklung
    Wurde schon an über 700 Patienten getestet
  • Bereits erforschte Pharmakokinetik
    Dosierungsspektrum und Applikationsart (s.c. und i.v.) bekannt
  • Früher Angriffspunkt in der Immunkaskade
  • Hohes Potenzial
    Als breit einsetzbares Biologikum bei Indikationen mit chronischen und überschießenden Entzündungsreaktionen

Meilensteine und Learnings

Bereits erreichte Meilensteine

Tregalizumab wurde bereits intensiv wissenschaftlich und klinisch im Bereich Autoimmunerkrankungen untersucht und hat schon Phase 2 erreicht. Parallel wurde auch der Wirkmechanismus in präklinischen Studien an „in vitro“ Modellen und humanen Zellen untersucht. Bis heute wurden acht klinische Studien durchgeführt: zwei mit gesunden Probanden, zwei auf dem Gebiet Psoriasis vulgaris und vier in der Indikation Rheumatoide Arthritis. Phase IIa Studien in den Indikationen Psoriasis und Rheumatoide Arthritis zeigten vielversprechende Effekte. Bisher gab es keine unerwarteten Sicherheitsbedenken.
Darüber hinaus zeigte Tregalizumab in der Indikation allergisches Asthma in „in vitro“ Untersuchungen mit Patientenzellen ein vielversprechendes immunmodulierendes Potenzial.

Learnings

Die Entwicklung von Tregalizumab in der Indikation Rheumatoide Arthritis wurde mit der Phase IIb Studie TREAT2b (T-Cell Regulating Arthritis Trial 2b) im Jahr 2015 beendet. Der primäre Endpunkt wurde nicht erreicht. Eine retrospektive Analyse wies auf Interaktionen von Tregalizumab mit der Begleit therapie von Methotrexat hin, die die Effizienz von Tregalizumab negativ beeinflusst haben könnte.
22.06.2018
09.01.2019
22.03.2019
10.06.2019
10.01.2020
Phase IIa Studien in den Indikationen Psoriasis und Rheumatoide Arthrits zeigten vielversprechende Effekte.
Die Entwicklung von Tregalizumab in der Indikation Rheumatoide Arthritis wurde mit der Phase IIb Studie TREAT2b (T cell REgulating Arthritis Trial 2b) beendet.
Eine retrospektive Analyse wies auf Interaktionen von Tregalizumab mit Glucocorticoiden und Metothrexat, die die Effizienz von Tregalizumab negativ beeinflussen könnten.
Tregalizumab befindet sich damit bereits in Phase 2 der klinischen Entwicklung. Bisher gab es keine unerwarteten Sicherheitsbedenken.
In der Indiaktion allergisches Asthma zeigt Tregalizumab in in vitro- Untersuchungen ein vielversprechendes immunmodulierendes Potenzial.

Der nächste Meilenstein

T-Balance Therapeutics gibt bekannt, dass die deutsche Zulassungsbehörde, das Paul-Ehrlich-Institut, eine klinische Studie der Phase 2a für den Einsatz von Tregalizumab bei der Behandlung von allergischem Asthma genehmigt hat.

Die Phase IIa Studie zur Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit von Tregalizumab in der Indikation Allergisches Asthma ist für Anfang 2021 geplant.

„Leitindikation“ Allergisches Asthma

Asthma bronchiale ist eine heterogene Erkrankung, die durch eine chronische Entzündung der Lunge charakterisiert ist. Weltweit leiden etwa 350 Millionen Menschen unter Asthma.1 Bis 2025 wird sich die Zahl schätzungsweise auf 400 Millionen Menschen erhöhen.2 Jedes Jahr sterben rund 495.000 Menschen weltweit an Asthma.3

Es werden zwei Formen von Asthma unterschieden: Allergisches Asthma und Nicht-allergisches Asthma. Beim allergischen Asthma reagiert der Körper auf einen grundsätzlich harmlosen Stoff mit einer überschießenden, unausgewogenen Immunreaktion, die in Richtung der TH2-Lymphozyten verschoben ist. Dies führt wiederum zu einer Vermehrung von eosinophilen Zellen und zur Ausschüttung von entzündungsfördernden Zytokinen. Allergisches Asthma beginnt häufig schon im Kindes- oder Jugendalter.

Untersuchungen mit „in vitro“-Modellen haben gezeigt, dass Tregalizumab auf die Immunantwort von Patienten mit allergischem Asthma ausgleichend in Richtung TH1 wirkt und damit die Entzündung deutlich reduzieren kann. In der geplanten Phase 2a-Studie TREGULAIRE werden nun Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit des Wirkstoffs in der Indikation allergisches Asthma untersucht. Nach bisheriger Datenlage stellt Tregalizumab eine vielversprechende zielgerichtete Therapieoption bei allergischem Asthma dar.

1 GBD 2015 Chronic Respiratory Disease Collaborators. Global, regional, and national deaths, prevalence, disability-adjusted life years, and years lived with disability for chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and asthma, 1990-2015: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2015. Lancet Respir Med 2017; 5:691-706.

2 Masoli et al, The global burden of asthma: executive summary of the GINA Dissemination Commitee Report, Alergy 2004:59 469-478.

3 Global, regional, and national age-sex-specific mortality for 282 causes of death in 195 countries and territories, 1980-2017: a systematic analysis for the Global Burden of Disease Study 2017. Lancet 2018; 392:1736-88.

Das Potenzial von Tregalizumab

Tregalizumab hat mit seinem einzigartigen Wirkmechanismus das Potenzial, als indikationsübergreifende Therapie bei verschiedensten Erkrankungen mit chronisch-entzündlichen Prozessen eingesetzt zu werden.

Autoimmunerkrankungen und weitere Erkrankungen mit einer chronischen- oder überschließenden Entzündung

Weltweit sind rund 50 Millionen Menschen4 von einer der mehr als 80 derzeit bekannten Autoimmunerkrankungen betroffen. Dazu gehören unter anderem Diabetes Typ 1, multiple Sklerose, Lupus, Rheumatoide Arthritis, Psoriasis-Arthritis und Plaque-Psoriasis, Morbus Bechterew, Neurodermitis und Zöliakie. Andere schwerwiegende chronische- oder überschießende entzündliche Erkrankungen sind beispielsweise Morbus Crohn und Colitis Ulcerosa. Zur Behandlung werden entzündungshemmende Medikamente, Immunsuppressiva und Biologika eingesetzt. Allein die Biologika haben in diesen Indikationsgebieten einen Markt von 75 Mrd. €. Mit seinem neuartige Wirkmechanismus hat Tregalizumab somit das Potential einen hohen Marktwert zu erzielen.

Allen diesen Krankheiten ist ein überschießendes Immunsystem gemein, bei dem die Selbsttoleranz aufgehoben ist und Autoimmunreaktionen ausgelöst werden. Im gesunden Körper wird diese Immuntoleranz durch regulatorische T-Zellen (Treg) aufrechterhalten und reguliert.

Genau an dieser Stelle setzt Tregalizumab an: der monoklonale Antikörper aktiviert hoch spezifisch regulatorische T-Zellen und kann damit helfen, die krankmachende Überreaktion des Immunsystems zu unterbrechen und eine ausbalancierte Immuntoleranz zurückzuerlangen.

4 7th International Conference on Infectious Diseases, Bacteriology and Antibiotics. October 12-13, 2020 Prague, Czech Republic. Abstract of Autoimmune Disease Session. URL: https://infectiousdiseases.annualcongress.com/events-list/autoimmune-disease. Cited: 5 June 2020.